Menu

Join us for worship each Sunday morning at 10:45am

2017-18 Family Devotional Guide

2017-18 Family Devotial Guide Blog Graphic

Connecting Church & Home

At Sovereign Grace, we're committed to encouraging and equipping Christian parents to disciple their children and connect "church life" with "home life."

Our Wednesday-Night children's curriculum, The Gospel Story Curriculum, features a great way to connect parents and families with what's taking place on Wednesday nights. Along with each Wednesday Night children's lesson, parents can lead their children through a complementary family devotional that correponds with each week's lesson.

1277

The devotional is Long Story Short: 10-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God, and contains 78 weeks of devotions through the Old Testament, with an emphasis on seeing Jesus in the Old Testament. Each week contains five 10-minute devotions. The devotional also corresponds with The Gospel Story Bible. See the video posted below.

If your family would like to follow along with each Wednesday Night lesson, the following guide will help you keep track of where to be each week (and which weeks to take off and "do your own thing"). We believe this is a great opportunity for families to regularly engage God's word together at home, connected to the church. 

  • Wednesday Sep. 27-Oct. 3 - Pray/Plan/Prepare for the year
  • Wednesday Oct. 4-10 - Week 43: Rahab’s Help (p. 284-290)
  • Wednesday Oct. 11-17 - Week 44: Jericho Falls (p. 291-297)
  • Wednesday Oct. 18-24 - Week 45: Israel and Ai (p. 298-304)
  • Wednesday Oct. 25-31 - Week off/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Nov. 1-7 - Week 46: God Calls Gideon (p. 305-311)
  • Wednesday Nov. 8-14 - Week 47: Gideon’s Victory (p. 312-318)
  • Wednesday Nov. 15-21 - Week 48: God Gives Samson Strength (p. 319-324)
  • Wednesday Nov. 22-28 - Week off/Thanksgiving/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Nov. 29-Dec. 5 - Week 49: Samson Loses His Strength (p. 325-331)
  • Wednesday Dec. 6-12 - Week off/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Dec. 13-19 - Week 50: Ruth (p. 332-338)
  • Wednesday Dec. 20-26 - Week off/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Dec. 27-Jan. 2 - Week off/Christmas/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Jan. 3-9 - Week off/New Year’s/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Jan. 10-16 - Week 51: God Hears Hannah’s Prayers (p. 339-344)
  • Wednesday Jan 17-23 - Week 52: God Calls Little Samuel (p. 345-351)
  • Wednesday Jan. 24-30 - Week 53: The God of Israel Cannot Be Captured (p. 352-358)
  • Wednesday Jan. 31-Feb. 6 - Week 54: Israel Demands a King (p. 359-365)
  • Wednesday Feb. 7-13 - Week off/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday Feb. 14-20 - Week 55: Saul Disobeys the Lord (p. 366-372)
  • Wednesday Feb. 21-27 - Week 56: God Chooses a New King (p. 373-379)
  • Wednesday Feb. 28-March 6 - Week 57: David and Goliath (p. 380-386)
  • Wednesday March 7-13 - Week 58: The Ark of God (p. 387-393)
  • Wednesday March 14-20 - Week off/Spring Break/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday March 21-27 - Week off/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday March 28-April 3 - Week off/Easter/Catch-up Week
  • Wednesday April 4-10 - Week 59: David the Psalmist (p. 394-400)
  • Wednesday April 11-17 - Week 60: Solomon and the Temple of God (p. 401-407)
  • Wednesday April 18-24 - Week 61: The Kingdom is Divided (p. 408-415)
  • Wednesday April 25 - Last Night of Wed. Night Studies/Catch-up Week/Break for Summer