Menu

Join us for worship each Sunday morning at 10:45am

2016-17 Family Devotional Guide

Connecting Church & Home

At Sovereign Grace, we're committed to encouraging and equipping Christian parents to disciple their children and connect "church life" with "home life."

Our Wednesday-Night children's curriculum, The Gospel Story Curriculum, features a great way to connect parents and families with what's taking place on Wednesday nights. Along with each Wednesday Night children's lesson, parents can lead their children through a complementary family devotional that correponds with each week's lesson.

1277

The devotional is Long Story Short: 10-Minute Devotions to Draw Your Family to God, and contains 78 weeks of devotions through the Old Testament, with an emphasis on seeing Jesus in the Old Testament. Each week contains five 10-minute devotions. The devotional also corresponds with The Gospel Story Bible.

If your family would like to follow along with each Wednesday Night lesson, the following guide will help you keep track of where to be each week (and which weeks to take off and "do your own thing"). We believe this is a great opportunity for families to regularly engage God's word together at home, connected to the church. 

Wednesday Sep. 21-28 - Pray/Plan/Prepare for the year
Wednesday Sep. 28-Oct. 5 - Week 23: Joseph is Attacked By His Brothers (p. 150-156)
Wednesday Oct. 4-12 - Week 24: Joseph Interprets the Dreams (p. 157-162)
Wednesday Oct. 12-19 - Week 25: God Provides for the Israelites in Famine (p. 163-169)
Wednesday Oct. 19-26 - Week 26: Joseph Reveals Himself to His Brothers (p. 170-175)
Wednesday Oct. 26-Nov. 2 - Week off/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Nov. 2-9 - Week 27: God Protects Baby Moses (p. 176-182)
Wednesday Nov. 9-16 - Week 28: God Calls Moses (p. 183-189)
Wednesday Nov. 16-23 - Week 29: Moses Confronts Pharaoh (p. 190-196)
Wednesday Nov. 23-30 - Week off/Thanksgiving/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Nov. 30-Dec. 7 - Week 30: God Sends Plagues Against Egypt (p. 197-203)
Wednesday Dec. 7-14 - Week 31: The Last Plague and the First Passover (p. 204-209)
Wednesday Dec. 14-21 - Week off/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Dec. 21-28 - Week off/Christmas/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Dec. 28-Jan. 4 - Week off/Christmas/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Jan. 4-11 - Week off/Christmas/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Jan. 11-18 - Week 32: God Parts the Red Sea (p. 210-216)
Wednesday Jan 18-25 - Week 33: God Provides Food & Water for Israel (p. 217-223)
Wednesday Jan. 25-Feb. 1 - Week 34: God Gives Moses the Ten Commandments (p. 224-230)
Wednesday Feb. 1-8 - Week 35: The Tabernacle (p. 231-236)
Wednesday Feb. 8-15 - Week off/Catch-up Week
Wednesday Feb. 15-22 - Week 36: The Golden Calf (p. 237-243)
Wednesday Feb. 22-March 1 - Week 37: God Has Mercy on Israel (p. 244-250)
Wednesday March 1-8 - Week 38: The People of Israel Complain (p. 251-257)
Wednesday March 8-15 - Week 39: Miriam (p. 258-263)
Wednesday March 15-22 - Week off/Catch-up Week
Wednesday March 22-29 - Week 40: Israel Spies Out the Land (p. 264-270)
Wednesday March 29-April 5 - Week 41: Moses Disobeys God (p. 271-277)
Wednesday April 5-12 - Week off/Spring Break/Catch-up Week
Wednesday April 12-19 - Week off/Easter/Catch-up Week
Wednesday April 19-26 - Week 42: God Heals Israel with a Bronze Snake (p. 278-283)
Wednesday April 26 - Last Night of Wed. Night Studies/Catch-up Week/Break for Summer